Tuesday, May 3, 2011

talullah blanco, emancipation proclamation, deborah's class

The proclamation declared "that all persons held as slaves" within the rebellious states "are, and henceforward shall be free." 
It applied only to states that had seceded from the Union, leaving slavery untouched in the loyal border states.

This is saying that the Emancipation Proclamation only let the slaves in the states that seceded (South Carolina,North Carolina, Mississppi,Florida,Alabama,Georgia,Louisiana,Texas,Virginia,Arkansas, and Tennesse) were free, but left slavery in the border states (Deleware,Maryland,Virginia,Kentucky and Missouri) legal.

No comments:

Post a Comment