Wednesday, April 13, 2011

Secession from the Union- Abby O'Brien- Deborah's Class

This is a link to a copy of all of the Ordinances of Secession from the original 13 Confederate states and a typed easier to read version.  They have the reason why each state seceded and the date it happened.

"We, the people of the State of Florida, in convention assembled, do solemnly ordain, publish, and declare, That the State of Florida hereby withdraws herself from the confederacy of States existing under the name of the United States of America and from the existing Government of the said States; and that all political connection between her and the Government of said States ought to be, and the same is hereby, totally annulled, and said Union of States dissolved; and the State of Florida is hereby declared a sovereign and independent nation; and that all ordinances heretofore adopted, in so far as they create or recognize said Union, are rescinded; and all laws or parts of laws in force in this State, in so far as they recognize or assent to said Union, be, and they are hereby, repealed."
-Florida's ordinance of secession

Top row (L-R): 1. William B. Yates, Brevard County; 2. Green H. Hunter, Columbia County; 3. Samuel W. Spencer, Franklin County; 4. Summerfield M.G. Gary, Marion County; 5. Simmons J. Baker, Calhoun County; 6. McQueen McIntosh, Calhoun County; 7. Daniel D. McLean, Washington County; 8. Simon B. Turman, Hillsborough County; 9. J.O. Duval, Putnam County.
Second row: 10. William H. Sever, Taylor County; 11. John J. Lamb, Marion County; 12. James Gettis, Hillsborough County; 13. E.C. Love, Gadsden County; 14. Isaac N. Rutland, Orange County; 15. William S. Dilworth, Jefferson County; 16. R.G. Mays, St. Johns County; 17. C.C. Simpson, Santa Rosa County; 18. James A. Newman, Suwanee County.
Third row: 19. A. William Nicholson, Escambia County; 20. Arthur J.T. Wright, Columbia County; 21. Joseph Finegan, Nassau County; 22. William W. Woodruff, Orange County; 23. Abraham Kurkindolle Allison, Gadsden County; 24. David Lewis, Wakulla County; 25. John Morrison, Walton County; 26. John C. Pelot, Alachua County; 27. Andrew J. Lea, Madison County.
Fourth row: 28. Lewis A. Folsom, Hamilton County; 29. Samuel B. Stephens, Franklin County; 30. George Washington Parkhill, Leon County; 31. S. H. Wright, Escambia County; 32. Thomas J. Hendricks, Clay County; 33. Mathew Solana, St. Johns County; 34. James H. Chandler, Volusia County; 35. William Pinkney, Monroe County; 36. Alexander L. McCaskill, Walton County; 37. Thomas Y. Henry, Gadsden County.
Fifth row: 38. William T. Gregory, Liberty County; 39. Freeman B. Irwin, Washington County; 40. James G. Cooper, Nassau County; 41. Thompson Bird Lamar, Jefferson County; 42. John C. McGehee (President), Madison County; 43. Thomas M. Palmer, Jefferson County; 44. Benjamin W. Saxon, Hernando County; 45. Adam McNealy, Jackson County; 46. Ezekiel Glazier, Manatee County.
Sixth row: 47. William S. Harris (secretary), Marion County; 48. S.S. Alderman, Jackson County; 49. James B. Owens, Marion County; 50. George T. Ward, Leon County; 51. John Beard, Leon County; 52. W.G.M. Davis, Leon County; 53. Robert R. Golden, Holmes County; 54. James Patton Anderson, Jefferson County; 55. Isaac S. Coon, New River (now Bradford) County; 56. David G. Leigh, Sumter County.
Bottom row: 57. E.P. Barronton, Lafayette County; 58. William McGahagin, Marion County (above J.M. Daniel); 59. Asa F. Tift, Dade County; 60. George Helvenston, Levy County; 61. Joseph Thomas, Hamilton County; 62. John P. Sanderson, Duval County; 63. Winer Bethel, Monroe-Dade County; 64. Jackson Morton, Santa Rosa County; 65. Joseph A. Collier, Jackson County (above J.M. Kirksey); 66. James B. Dawkins, Alachua County (above Daniel Ladd); 67. J.M. Daniel, Duval County (below William McGahagin); 68. J.M. Kirksey, Leon County (at right below Joseph A. Collier); 69. James L.G. Baker, Jackson County (between Taft and Helvenston); 70. Daniel Ladd, Wakulla County (at far right bottom).

-This is all of the men who went to the secession convention in Tallahassee Florida.  There are names below.

The Declaration of the Immediate Causes Which Induce and Justify the Secession of South Carolina from the Federal Union:                                            
Charleston Mercury Head line about the secession stating the date and time that it was passed that South Carolina would secede.  Other states would soon follow. 
A map showing that not all of the south wanted to secede from the Union but the parts that didn't weren't large enough to change the out come.  In Virginia the area that was almost entirely against secession would eventually separate and become West Virginia, a Union state.

No comments:

Post a Comment